Shell

shell.

“Is the turtle dead?” I ask, again.

Initially I relied on Lucas for vital stats on our sometimes dead-looking new pet. Now I just ask to bother him a bit — and let him feel smarter than me.

No, Mom,” my fourteen-year-old rolls his eyes, exasperated and a little amused,  “and he wasn’t dead the last time you asked.”

I smile, relieved.

Turns out, it’s hard to tell if a heart is still functioning when somebody is wearing a hard enough shell.

Maybe that’s true for people, too.

______________________________

Photo: Emlynn Photography

, ,

One Comment on “Shell”

  1. Teri @ StumblingAroundInTheLight
    February 7, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

    Lovely, biting, tender truth.

Leave a Reply

