Fields of Gold

I used to think about this autumn love song with springtime feeling of hope for my life with my husband.  But, after entering a new and sacred journey with my recently widowed mother-in-law, I hear these words with a different ache.

The images of golden fields before harvest remind me of the beauty I see in older couples’ ripened years and full seasons of memories.

“But I swear in the days still left, we’ll lie in fields of gold…”

___________________________

Fields of Gold” sung by Eva Cassidy

Lyrics, by Sting

2 Comments on “Fields of Gold”

  1. Heather
    November 6, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    “Fields of Gold” was our wedding song 🙂

    We chose it because of the fields of gold we would see every fall, hiking the mountains around Durango—college life, carefree.

    The things we couldn’t have known…

    “But I swear in the days still left, we’ll lie in fields of gold…”

    Thanks for this post, Kelley.

  2. KLeigh
    November 6, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    What a beautiful wedding song!

    I think it is so interesting how some of the ‘younger’ sentimental meaning stays put, and some of it changes so profoundly as we get older.

    I am so grateful you stop by, Heather.
    Thanks.
    ox

Leave a Reply

