Mended

Sharp needle stitches mend one to another. 

Buttons return to their original fastening purpose. Patches lay down to hold the holes. Rips pull together like skin healed to itself.

The way a stinging needle can make you bleed, it’s tempting to entirely opt out of the process of repair — for clothes, relationships, or a soul.

I think pain and mending are bound together like needle and thread.

.

_____________________________

Cool blue ink drawing by my friend Adina, at Generous Art.  She also creates art on an enormous scale, and does a wide variety of  projects.  I am a fan.  Her blue inks are my favorite.  Go visit her site.

5 Comments on “Mended”

  1. Heather
    October 25, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Wow. Beautiful art, beautiful words.

    Looks just like Pikes Peak.

    Let the mountains bring peace to the people, And the hills, in righteousness. (Psalm 72:3)

    • KLeigh
      October 25, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

      I didn’t SEE Pikes Peak until you pointed that out!

      The mending hand is also a mountain that brings peace.

      Oh my …

  2. adina
    October 25, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    Reminder of the sting that Jesus felt. I often forget that His work for me caused Him to hurt.

  3. Pam
    February 5, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

    Hello,
    Is this piece for sale?

    • KLeigh
      February 5, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

      Hi Pam,
      And, yes, it is! I now have a print of it at my house.
      You can contact the artist Adina Henderson at her website
      or go directly to her contact page HERE.

      I know Adina would love to hear from you.
      Best!
      Kelley

Leave a Reply

