Ron

I walk the downtown sidewalk toward my office and his voice happily calls out to me from his regular spot at the corner, “What are you doing here on a Saturday?”

Work, ” I sigh, and remember my sadness at losing half of my weekend to a deadline.  He sees my mood, smiles his big toothless smile, and says, “Ahhh, job security!”  He is honestly happy for me, even though my pocket change went into my coffee cup instead of his hand.

And my eyes open, suddenly aware of the blessings; half a weekend yet to claim, the gift of a job, and Ron’s smile most days, except when it’s cold and snowy.  And I wish I knew how to gift him back in an equally meaningful way.

Certain changes in perspective can only come from a homeless friend.

5 Comments on “Ron”

  1. laura@alife overseas
    October 23, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    i adored this post. i even linked it. i hope that is okay. love that you are writing for us again! i’ve missed your voice.

    • KLeigh
      October 23, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

      You are a great encouragement. Of course it is ok!
      Awesome post on your end, Laura. The pix on your post Laundry on a Barbed Wire made me stop in my tracks.

      And congratulations on the launch of your new Compasssion International writing journey!

  2. Trish
    October 24, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    What a friendly face Carl has! Thank you for sharing your precious gift…perspective shifts are amazing!

    • KLeigh
      October 24, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

      Trish. ❤
      Thanks for stopping by.

      And, I totally agree, a good perspective shift can be such a gift in a day.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Laundry on Barbed Wire - October 23, 2011

    […] a gift to me, to my perspective, to my heart.  My friend Kelley wrote about the same kind of gift, given to her by a homeless friend– evidence that perspective- shifts can happen anywhere we’re looking to find them. […]

Leave a Reply

